Going Abroad With The North Korean Passport Part I

http://blog.livedoor.jp/yasgreen/archives/2500202.html

 

Hi, I haven’t been writing recently.

I had a hard time deciding what I could write here.

 

So, do you recognize this?

This is the passport from the Democratic People’s Republic of Korea.

People may be surprised to know that there is such thing….but of course there is! It’s a real country!

nk pass

 

Just for facts, it’s even possible for Japanese to get this passport.

Well…to make things clear, I would say, “There are Japanese people who have these passports.”

BUT! Only under certain circumstances, like being married to a Korean in Japan. You would have a hard time visiting your parents in law in North Korea if you only had a Japanese passport.

But there is also a fact that not many of the Koreans in Japan have this passport.

The association who would issue this passport in Japan would obviously be the General Association of Korean Residents, and I remember that it took about 10 days for the passport to be issues.

I waited for about a week or so, and received a package from the association.

I was excited to see my new brand new passport….

 

BUT!!

 

There was a big surprise waiting for me.

 

Can you see the red circle on the top right?

My passport was issued as a “Male”.

 

nk pass naka

 

Maybe my picture wasn’t that great, and my voice might have been a little low for a female….

But I still can’t understand why such a mistake could happen.

I would like to note here that the North Korean passport is expired for me and that I don’t posses one right now.

Here is a pic comparing the passports from the North and the South.

both  pass

It’s not possible to use or posses both passports at once. There may be a way but it would lead to big trouble. Don’t try!!

3 thoughts on “Going Abroad With The North Korean Passport Part I

  1. I would like to ask your permission to use that passport picture for a project I’m planning to make. It would serve great as a little background image. Of course I’ll link to your blog as the source of the picture.Hope to hear from you soon.

Leave a Reply

